Practice Educator Updates for AHP Student Placements 

Practice Educator Training Events 

The Allied Health Professions (AHP) Faculty wants to support all practice educators to feel ready and equipped to take students on placements. Our university partners offer a range of training and updates for practice educators throughout the year. 
 
Please click on the links below to see a summary of the dates offered by the universities for your professional group. We will continue to add to, and extend these resources as information becomes available. 

Physiotherapy Practice / Clinical Educator Training and Updates 

""
University of Nottingham, Sheffield Hallam University and University of Lincoln work in collaboration to provide practice/clinical educator training and updates. This means that staff only need to attend one course from one university and they can then support students from any university. 
 
For those new to clinical education, there are 'Full' educator training sessions and for those that are experienced or require an update there are shorter updates. Ideally, all practice/clinical educators will be updated every 2 years. You can attend any update. This does not need to be from the university in which you completed your initial training. 

University of Nottingham 

There are currently no educator training sessions from this university, please utilise the dates available with the other universities. 

Sheffield Hallam University 

Full educator training is split over two days. To book sessions with Sheffield Hallam University, please email ahptraining@shu.ac.uk. 

Practice Educator Course 

Day 1: Thursday 30 September 2021, 10.00-16.00 
Day 2: Wednesday 10 November 2021, 10.00-16.00 
 
Day 1: Tuesday 19 October 2021, 10.00-16.00 
Day 2: Thursday 21 April 2022, 10.00-16.00 
 
Day 1: Thursday 9 December 2021, 10.00-16.00 
Day 2: Wednesday 13 July 2022, 10.00-16.00 
 
Day 1: Wednesday 9 February 2022, 10.00-16.00 
Day 2: TBC 

Practice Educator Update 

Tuesday 12 October 2021, 10.00-12.00 
Thursday 25 November 2021, 14.00-16.00 
Wednesday 12 January 2022, 13.00-15.00 
Tuesday 15 March 2022, 10.00-12.00 
Thursday 5 May 2022, 13.00-15.00 
Tuesday 5 July 2022, 10.00-12.00 

University of Lincoln 

All sessions are currently held virtually. Email iharvey@lincoln.ac.uk to book onto University of Lincoln hosted sessions. 

Full Session 

Thursday 14 October 2021 
Wednesday 17 November 2021 
 
Programme: 
 
09.00-09.30 - Live dial in to set tasks / activities to then be done individually before pm live session 
13.00-16.00 - Live dial in for small and large group discussion, feedback and Q&A 

Update Session 

Monday 6 September 2021 
Wednesday 29 September 2021 
Tuesday 2 November 2021 
 
Programme: 
 
09.00-09.30 - Live dial in to set tasks / activities to then be done individually before pm live session 
15.00-16.00 - Live dial in for small and large group discussion, feedback and Q&A 

Speech and Language Therapy Practice Educator Information Sessions 

""

De Montfort University 

7 September 2021, 09.30-12.30 
16 September 2021, 12.30-15.30 
 
To book onto a workshop, please contact Nicky Johnson at njohnson@dmu.ac.uk. 

University of Sheffield 

E-learning: Speech and Language Therapy Training for Practice Educators via Blackboard. Download instructions on how to set up an account and enrol on the course, or contact hss-placements@sheffield.ac.uk. 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings